Home » JEE Full Form: JEE Main, Advanced, Exam Pattern and Structure
JEE Full Form

JEE Full Form: JEE Main, Advanced, Exam Pattern and Structure

by Sonal Shukla

Joint Entrance Examination (JEE) is an engineering entrance assessment conducted for admission to various engineering colleges in India. It is constituted by two separate examinations: JEE Main and JEE Advanced.

Joint Seat Allocation Authority (JoSAA) conducts the joint admission process for a total of 23 Indian Institute of Technology campuses, 31 National Institute of Technology campuses, 25 Indian Institute of Information Technology campuses, and 19 other Government Funded Technical Institutes (GFTIs) based. On the rank obtained by a student in JEE Main and JEE Advanced.

JEE Full Form

The full form of JEE is Joint Entrance Examination. JEE is called Joint Entrance Examination in Hindi. JEE is an entrance exam that one has to clear to get admission in NITs, IITs, CFTI colleges. JEE is an entrance exam that is a means of admission in many engineering colleges in India. Without clearing JEE entrance exam you cannot take admission to any engineering college in India. JEE exam is conducted in two parts, JEE Main and Advanced.

SAMS Odisha Merit List 2021 || +3 Merit List Downlaod

JEE Main

National Testing Agency (NTA) is conducting JEE Main. JEE Main consists of two papers, Paper-I and Paper-II. Candidates can choose any one or both of them. Both the papers have multiple-choice questions. Paper-I is for admission to B.E./B.Tech courses and is conducted in Computer Based Test Mode. Paper-II is for admission to B.Arch and B.Planning courses and will also be conducted in computer-based test mode except for one paper, namely ‘Drawing Test’, which will be conducted in pen and paper mode or offline mode. Will go An additional paper-III is being introduced separately for B.Planning courses from January 2020.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic in 2020, there has been a change in the paper format and number of attempts in JEE Main 2021. Now there will be 20 single choice questions and 10 numerical questions out of which only five numerical questions are to be attempted. The marking scheme is the same as before i.e. for SCQs, +4 marks for correct answer and -1 mark for a wrong answer and 0 marks for not answered, and for numerical type questions, +4 marks for correct and 0 marks for wrong.

JEE Main, unlike JEE Advanced, has a fixed exam structure and is not subject to change every year. As of 2018, JEE Exam Paper-1 is of three hours duration and consists of thirty single choice questions in each of the three subjects (Physics, Chemistry, and Mathematics). 4 marks are awarded for correct answers and 1 mark is deducted for wrong answers. The students who take this test are usually in the age group of 18-20 years.

A new pattern consisting of 20+5 questions per subject was introduced by NTA in January 2020 with 20 single choice questions + 5 numerical type questions. 4 marks are awarded for correct answers in single-choice questions and no marks are deducted for numerical type questions.

From 2013 to 2016, marks obtained in Class XII school board exams were given 40% weightage in deciding JEE Main All India Rank.

JEE Advanced

JEE Advanced exam is conducted for admission to 23 IITs and some other prestigious universities like IISc Bangalore, IIST Thiruvananthapuram, etc. This exam is conducted every year by one of the IITs. The exam in 2020 was conducted by IIT Delhi. It will be conducted by IIT Kharagpur, IIT Bombay and IIT Guwahati in 2021, 2022, 2023 respectively.

Every year more than 2 lakh students qualify to write in JEE Advanced. Students who qualify JEE-Main exam become eligible for the JEE-Advanced exam. In 2018, 224,000 students were allowed to take JEE-Advanced, a number that stood at 220,000 in 2017 and 200,000 in 2016.

What is The Importance of The JEE exam?

Every year lakhs of students clear the 10+2 examinations and then aspire to get admission in reputed institutes. Now institutes conduct this exam to select only cream students. Apart from this, students also start preparing to qualify for JEE, and this automatically raises the level of the students. The main reason for this exam is to select the best students from the rest.

Also Read:

JEE Exam Pattern

JEE Main exam is specially for those students who want to take admission in the top National Institute of Technology, Indian Institute of Information Technology in courses like BE and B Tech. If you further clear JEE Main exam, then you have to appear in JEE Advanced. If you give both these exams then you will get a chance to study at IIT.

JEE Main exam consists of Paper 1 and Paper 2. Paper 1 is for the students who want to take admission in BE and B.Tech courses, in contrast, paper 2 is for the students of B.Planning and B.Arch courses. Candidates have to specify the papers they want to appear. They have to specify whether they want to appear in both the papers or not.

Structure of JEE examination

  • JEE is made up of two exams; JEE Main and JEE Advanced. JEE Advanced exam is considered to be one of the toughest entrance exams for the undergraduate level.
  • JEE Main is the eligibility test that allows applicants to appear in JEE Advanced test and eventually leads to enrollment in NITs, IITs, etc.
  • JEE Main exam is conducted twice a year and the number of admission attempts in a specific academic session is considered as one. Applicants can select one paper or both. This is done online.
  • The duration of the exam is three hours, consisting of three papers. Paper (1) consists of 30 MCQs (Multiple Choice Questions) from Physics, Chemistry, and Mathematics. For the wrong answer, there is one negative mark.
  • Paper 1 is for BE and B.Tech enrollment, Paper 2 is for B.Arch enrollment, and Paper 3 is for B.Planning courses.
  • Applicants can appear for JEE Main exam for three consecutive years but can appear for JEE Advanced exam only for two consecutive years.
  • Passing Marks for General Category – 81, for OBC-49, for SC – 32, ST – 27, and for PWD – 1.
  • The cut-off score for JEE Main is decided by the exam conducting NTA (National Testing Agency) and varies on the basis of categories like General, OBC, SC and ST, and PWD.
HomepageClick Hear

Related Posts

Leave a Comment